You forgot your iPhone backup password. How to disable

Many users of the iPhone or iPad when connecting the gadget to iTunes on the computer without hesitation enable encryption of backups. Of course, this is a useful option that will limit access to the local backup, however, it contains one unpleasant feature.

When you turn on encryption, iTunes asks for a password.

There is nothing wrong with that, just recalling this code in a few months will be difficult.

The reader Denis writes to us:

To access the backup iPhone iPhone iTunes asks for a password. Unfortunately, I don’t know him, the password from the iCloud account does not work.

How to remember a backup password

The advice is simple enough, do not rely on your memory, paper or electronic media, just save the code in the iCloud keychain and there will be no problems in the future.

To do this, when creating a password, simply check the corresponding flag.

Why do I need this code

This level of protection helps protect the user from data loss if the local backup falls into the wrong hands.

In addition, iTunes will kindly ask you to enter the code if you suddenly decide to disable backup encryption. If you transfer the backup to another computer and try to restore it via iTunes, you will need to enter the password again.

You will also need the code when using any third-party application for working with local backups.

It turns out that a forgotten password severely limits the backup options.

How to disable backup encryption without code

It is enough to completely erase the data on the device and restore the iPhone or iPad as new. After connecting to iTunes, encryption will be disabled, and when it is turned on, the program will ask you to come up with a new code.

Unfortunately, in this case, we lose access to the old backup.

How to disable encryption without data loss

1. Create an iPhone backup in iCloud ( Settings – Apple ID – iCloud – Backup ).

2. We reset the iPhone through the restoration of the firmware in iTunes on the computer.

3. After the reset, configure the device as new in iTunes, backup encryption will be disabled.

4. Now once again we reset the iPhone through the iOS settings ( Settings – General – Reset – Erase content and settings ).

5. At initial setup on the device itself, we restore data from iCloud.

We get the iPhone in its original state, and when connected to a computer, we see that backup encryption is disabled.

If you need data from the old backup stored on the computer, then before the whole process we restore the device from the necessary copy and carry out the described procedure (only if the backup was created on this computer, if the copy was transferred, then nothing is done without a password will come out).

We will be happy to hear your thoughts

      Leave a reply

      Wishlist 0
      Continue Shopping
      egadget.pk
      Logo
      Compare items
      • Total (0)
      Compare
      0
      preloader